Login |  Register |  help
Aggies Sports


Posted Friday, August 22, 2008 by staff
Ten players were presented by the Aggie football staff to the team for their votes in selecting the 2008 Aggie football team captains.  All were selected for their leaderhip qualities and work ethic.  Even though there were other players who have demonstrated leadership abilities, only those who had not had any academic or conduct issues were considered.  From the defensive unit, Seniors Matt Warner and Nathan Barclay were joined by Junior Ben Lane, Sophomore Gus Overstreet and red-shirt freshman Quinton Green.  Offensively, the coaches chose Seniors Teron Guidry, Johnathan Wyatt, and Johnathan Williams; Junior Quitin Jones and red-shirt freshman, Darryl Brister.

When the votes were tallied in a close race, Matt Warner and Ben Lane came away as the winners along with Teron Guidry and Quinton Jones for the offensive captains.

"We beleive all those players nominated were capable of being team captains and those not selected will still take on leadership roles, but we are happy with the team's selections." stated Aggie head football coach Mike Wyatt.

Matt Warner, a senior form Herrin, Illinois, by way of the College of Dupage was the nation's number two in total tackles and solo tackles in 2007.  For his efforts, he was tabbed as an honorable mention All American linbebacker.  He has already been tabbed as a Pre-season 1st team All American by Collegiate Draft Services.

Ben Lane, an Alvin, Texas, junior is the emotional and physical leader of the Aggie secondary.  The HPER major is looking for 2008 to be his finest season as an Aggie.

Teron Guidry, asenior  wide receiver from League City, Texas (Clear Creek High School) packs a lot of heart in his 5'10"-165 lb frame.  Often times he can be seen helping the younger players pick up the details of the Aggie offensive system.

Quinton Jones, a junior in the Aggie offensive line hails from Seiling, Oklahoma and has the versatility of playing any of the five positions in the line.  He was the team's scholar athlete award winner in 2007, as well.

This page was created in 0.0938 seconds on server 132